LibGuides: CTSI Community Engaged Research Initiative e-Library: For Researchers

Journals

Progress in Community Health Partnerships: Research, Education, and Action The PCHP is the first scholarly journal dedicated to Community-Based Participatory Research. PCHP is a peer-reviewed journal whose mission is to identify and publicize model programs that use community partnerships to improve public health, promote progress in the methods of research and education involving community health partnerships, and stimulate action that will improve the health of people and communities.

Journal of Community Engaged Scholarship The Journal of Community Engagement and Scholarship (JCES) is a peer-reviewed international journal through which faculty, staff, students, and community partners disseminate scholarly works. JCES integrates teaching, research, and community engagement in all disciplines, addressing critical problems identified through a community-participatory process.
Journal of Clinical and Translational Science Editorial board The mission of the Journal of Clinical and Translational Science (JCTS) is to provide a forum for disseminating advances in clinical and translational science. JCTS is a fully Open Access journal publishing high-quality articles on research that spans the translational continuum, as well as education research that informs the development of the translational workforce. Topics of interest include investigations into how to best develop processes and people that translate discoveries into improved health. The Association for Clinical and Translational Science has partnered with the Clinical Research Forum (CRF) to support the growth and development of JCTS. The Journal's founding Editor is Arthur M. Feldman, MD, PhD.
Community Experiences and Perceptions of Clinical and Translational Research and Researchers file:///C:/Users/marti088/Downloads/Community_Experiences_and_Perceptions_of%20(1).pdf
American Journal of Public Health View the publications of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health. Review literature regarding inequalities published by The American Journal of Public Health (AJPH).

Cultural Competence Resources & Guides

A Physician's Practical Guide to Culturally Competent Care
Offers CME/CE credit and equips health care professionals with awareness, knowledge, and skills to better treat the increasingly diverse U.S. population they serve.

Searching for the Evidence

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
This NLM Website provides free access to MEDLINE and methodological filters built into the search strategies.

ACP Journal Club [Duke only]
ACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select published articles according to explicit criteria and abstract those studies and reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians. These articles are summarized in "value-added" abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. [Access to abstracts is free.]

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
The TRIP Database is a meta-search engine that searches across 61 EBM sites of high-quality medical information, including online journals such as the BMJ, JAMA, NEJM

Health Equity at Duke

Community-Engaged Research (CEnR)/Community-Based Participatory Research (CBPR) Toolboxes

Guides

Community-Engaged Research: A Quick-Start Guide for Researchers - UCSF CTSI This Quick-Start Guide is intended for academic researchers at UCSF who are interested in community-based partnerships for research.
Toolbox for Conducting Community-Engaged Research - Scripps Institute This manual was created through a collaborative process that included the community engagement team at Southern California and Translational Science Institute Office of Community Engagement, Scripps Translational Science Institute Community Engagement Program, Scripps Whittier Diabetes Institute, Project Dulce as well as members from the communities they serve.
Duke University Campus Institutional Review Board (IRB) A resource guide to understand ethical consideration given at Duke University (i.e., compensating research participants, confidentiality, informed consent, and recruitment)
Tips and Tricks for Successful Research Recruitment - Southern California CTSI A toolkit highlighting effective strategies for investigators to work in diverse populations.
Resource for Integrating Community Voices into a Research Study: Community Advisory Board Toolkit - Southern California CTSI A toolkit providing investigators with an overview of how to develop and maintain a community advisory board for research studies.
Toolkit for Developing Community Partnerships - Southern California CTSI A resource for researchers, health care providers and the community who are interested in conducting community-engaged research. The CEnR guide will outline the process and approach needed during every phase of a project.

Resource Manuals

Resource Library for Advancing Health Equity in Public Health - Minnesota Department of Health The library is designed to allow local health departments to identify resources to best meet their needs from among a wide range of materials. Use these tools, templates, and resources to build your public health department's health equity capacity.
Community-Engaged Research with Community-Based Organizations: A Resource Manual for Researchers - UCSF CTSI Topic 1: What is community-engaged research? Topic 2: Why should I be interested in community-engaged research? Topic 3: Why would a community agency or network of agencies be interested in collaborative research? Topic 4: What do I need to know about community-based organizations and the community setting? Topic 5: What questions might community-based organizations have about research or about a potential collaboration? Topic 6: What are the steps of community-engaged research? Topic 7: How do I gain entrée to the community I would like to engage in research? Topic 8: What qualities and skills help a researcher conduct effective community collaborative research? Topic 9: What administrative components of research partnerships with community-based organizations should I know about? Topic 10: What are the challenges of collaboration with a community-based partner? Topic 11: What is known about the effectiveness of community-engaged research? Topic 12: What do I need to know to obtain funding for a collaborative study? Topic 13: How do I write a competitive proposal to conduct CBPR? Topic 14: What do I need to know about publishing a collaborative study?
Community-Engaged Research with Community-Based Clinicians: A Resource Manual for Researchers - UCSF CTSI Topic 1: What is community-engaged research? Topic 2: Why build research partnerships with community clinicians? Topic 3: Why might clinicians be interested in collaborative research? Topic 4: What questions might community clinicians have about a study? Topic 5: In what kinds of settings is practice-based research conducted? Topic 6: What might I need to know about community clinicians/providers and the community setting? Topic 7: What kinds of studies take place in community clinic settings? Topic 8: What options for research partnerships with community-based clinicians should I know about? Topic 9: What are the challenges I should think about as I consider collaborating with a community-based clinical partner? Topic 10: How do I initiate working relationships with clinicians in community settings? Topic 11: What are steps of collaborative research I need to know about? Topic 12: What do I need to know to obtain funding for collaborative research? Topic 13: What administrative mechanisms should I know about when setting up a research partnership with a community clinician? Topic 14: What do I need to know about publishing a practice-based collaborative study?
An Introduction to Effectiveness, Dissemination and Implementation Research - UCSF CTSI Topic 1: Defining Key Terms Topic 2: Underpinnings of Dissemination and Implementation Research Topic 3: What is the problem, and why do we need to perform effectiveness, dissemination and implementation research?
Community Health Engagement Training - Duke Community and Family Medicine This module describes steps to take to develop a community health program.

Articles

Community-Based Participatory Research - Speed Dating: An Innovative Model for Fostering Collaborations Between Community Leaders and Academic Researchers (accessible to Duke faculty) A developed community-based participatory research-speed dating (CBPR-SD) model/technique to promote and establish relationships, based on common research interests, between researchers and community stakeholders prior to the development and execution of CBPR projects.

Plain Language Glossaries & Thesauri

Creating Plain Language MRCT resource site for considering health literacy needs when developing clinical research materials. MRCT is housed at the Bingham and Women's hospital, which is part of Harvard.
Plain Language Medical Dictionary - University of Michigan Library
A project of the University of Michigan Taubman Health Sciences Library. To use, click on the drop down menu to browse the list of high-level medical terms. Once a word or phrase is selected, the plain language translation will appear in the box.
Plain Language Materials & Resources - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
From the CDC's National Center for Health Marketing, this thesaurus offers plain language equivalents to medical terms, phrases, and references.

Creating Plain Language Resources

Plain Language.gov
Contains guidelines for creating plain language materials, as well as an overview of the plain language movement and tools for trainers.
SMOG (Simple Measure of Goobledygook)
This online tool calculates the grade level of written materials.
Usability.gov
One-stop source for web designers to learn how to make websites more usable, useful, and accessible.

CTSI Community Engaged Research Initiative e-Library: For Researchers

Summary of Content:

Recommended Reading

Journals

Cultural Competence Resources & Guides

Searching for the Evidence

Health Equity at Duke

Community-Engaged Research (CEnR)/Community-Based Participatory Research (CBPR) Toolboxes

Guides

Resource Manuals

Articles

Plain Language Glossaries & Thesauri

Creating Plain Language Resources

Access

Databases

Journals

Books

Guides For

Conducting Research

Using Databases

Finding & Accessing

Writing & Citing

Meet a Librarian

Classes

Search Services

Citation Mgmt

Scholarly Communications

Building

Library Updates

Staff

Other

CTSI Community Engaged Research Initiative e-Library: For Researchers

Summary of Content:

Recommended Reading

Journals

Cultural Competence Resources & Guides

Searching for the Evidence

Health Equity at Duke

Community-Engaged Research (CEnR)/Community-Based Participatory Research (CBPR) Toolboxes

Guides

Resource Manuals

Articles

Plain Language Glossaries & Thesauri

Creating Plain Language Resources