LibGuides: Test Instruments: Databases

Searching Help

Ask A Librarian
Searching CINAHL for Research Instruments & Questionnaires
Outlines approaches for finding information about research instruments/ questionnaires in CINAHL.

Getting Full-Text Tests

Many instruments are proprietary and are only available via purchase.

Libraries typically do not own collections of instruments.

An instrument must be purchased directly from the publisher or copyright holder.

Some, but not all, journal articles make the full-text of the instrument available as an appendix.

Databases @ Duke

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of journal literature related to nursing and allied health. Includes research instrument records, research instrument validation records, and research instrument utilization records. Provides information about the research instrument, including the purpose, population addressed, variables measured, and more. Click here for search tips.
Dissertations & Theses @ Duke University This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Duke University doctoral dissertations by Duke University users from 1996 forward, with a growing number available dating from 1995 and earlier; some full-text available. Master's theses written at Duke University are not in this database. Use this database to access unpublished research instruments.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal and report literature in all aspects of educational research. Use the ERIC Thesaurus to browse for tests, individual measures, scales, surveys, questionnaires, etc. Click here for search tips.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for an instrument by name to find articles that discuss it. Occasionally, articles will also include the full-text instrument. When using Google Scholar on campus, "Get it at Duke" links will appear to facilitate connecting to Duke's online collections. You can also add these links so they appear when using Google Scholar from off campus.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of behavioral measurement instruments. Provides information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more. Please note: Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users. Please see this page on how to search HaPI on the EBSCO platform
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It includes full text for graduate works added since 1997 and selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Click here for search tips.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains information about the psychological aspect of disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, psychiatry, sociology, pharmacology, education and others. Filter search results by choosing Classification Code 2220 Tests & Testing. Click here for search tips.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Helpful for finding articles that discuss use of certain measurement instruments. Search by topic or using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Combine topic search with "Surveys and Questionnaires"[Mesh], "Psychological Tests"[Mesh], or "Reproducibility of Results"[MeSH].

REDCap
Click on Library to see list of instruments and measures. Full text of instrument is included. Examples of available instruments: Agitated Behavior Scale, Diet Habit Survey, Geriatric Depression Scale.

Contact the Medical Library

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

medical-librarian@duke.edu

Access

Databases

Journals

Books

Guides For

Conducting Research

Using Databases

Finding & Accessing

Writing & Citing

Meet a Librarian

Classes

Search Services

Citation Mgmt

Scholarly Communications

Building

Library Updates

Staff

Other

Test Instruments: Databases

Searching Help

Getting Full-Text Tests

Databases @ Duke

Contact the Medical Library