Below are some databases that might be helpful to look through when starting your research. These are organized as "Core" and "Focused." Core databases are larger, sometimes multidisciplinary databases that are considered a standard database to search in the medical field. Focused databases are often smaller, more subject-specific databases that you might search depending on the nature of your question or what publication type you are interested in.
You can find a full list of our available databases here:
This one of the first databases you should search for anything related to health. This database has over 36 million citations of biomedical literature. A variety of healthcare professions, including occupational therapy, is gathered here to search for.
Embase is a biomedical database, like PubMed, but it has more literature from the UK and other parts of the world. This is a great one to search if your question is not US-specific.
This database covers a wide variety of allied health literature, including physical therapy, occupational therapy, nursing, and more. This is one of the main databases for the allied health field.
This is a big, multidisciplinary database that covers at lot of fields. It has some additional tools, such as links to references and an option to filter by subject area.
Web of Science one is very similar to Scopus in the fact that it is big and multidisciplinary. One helpful feature is filtering for "highly cited" papers – so you can find the seminal works that everyone is citing in their research.
This database is great for finding vetted, high levels of evidence on physical therapy topics. PEDro is a free database of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
This database is focused on athletes and sport science: content ranges from sports physiology, phycology, physiotherapy, to physical education and recreation.
Research questions rooted in psychology. This database covers multiple medical disciplines as well as education, pharmacology, and more.
Not sure which databases are right for your research question? I am happy to provide a consultation!
