Duke University Medical Center Archives

Our digital repository, MEDSpace, includes hundreds of digitized images relevant to the history of the Duke University Medical Center. You can search for a particular individual or topic (such as "Wilburt Davison" or "nursing") or browse by subject or collection.

Collections recommended for researchers include:

• Foundations of Excellence -- Over 700 digitized photographs and publications documenting the history of Duke Medicine's academic, clinical, and research activities.

• Historical Publications -- A selection of publications from the School of Medicine's early days, such as 1929 admission requirements and a 1939 Duke Nursing Handbook.

• Artifacts & Artwork -- Over 200 images of artwork (some of it featuring key figures in the medical center's history) and artifacts (such as medical instruments, apothecary jars, etc.)

Below is a selection of the Duke University Medical Center Archives digital exhibits.

To view a full list, please visit the Digital Exhibits page of our website.

• Remembering the 65th This exhibit features the activities and achievements of the 65th General Hospital during World War II
• Women in Medicine: An Oral History Exhibit This exhibit highlights important women in Duke Medicine's history. 
• W.C. Davison Scrapbook: Osler Correspondence, 1913-1950 This exhibit showcases a scrapbook of letters and articles exchanged between the first School of Medicine Dean Wilburt C. Davison and Sir William and Lady Grace Osler.
• David Coston Sabiston Jr., MD This exhibit features Dr. David C. Sabiston's career and contributions to medicine, with a particular look at his impact on surgical education.
• Duke Posion Control Center: A Retrospective Exhibit This exhibit highlights the Duke Poison Control Center, an official entity from 1954-1995, and one of the first poison control centers in the U.S.

Recommended medical-related digital exhibits, collections, and guides created by Duke University:

• What Does Your Doctor Know? This exhibit highlights the transition of physician education over time, from the days of ancient civilization in Greece to the establishment of Duke’s Medical School. Materials are from the Medical Center Archives and from the History of Medicine Collections in the Rubenstein Library.

• Animated Anatomies This exhibit explores the visually stunning and technically complex genre of printed texts and illustrations known as anatomical flap books.

• Medicine & Madison Avenue This digital collection features over 600 advertisements dating from 1850 to 1920, with a particular focus on medicine, health, and hygiene.

• Medical History & Special Collections Guide This History of Medicine research guide features information about the collection and helpful resources for medical history.

Recommended general digital collection resources created by Duke University:

• Duke University Digital Collections
• Duke University Archives Guide to Digital Collections