Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CINAHL Image Quick View Collection (Duke users only)
From the CINAHL home page, click on More (at top of page). Then choose Images.
Catalog of Clinical Images
"A Web-based collection of physical examination findings." Images are organized into these categories: Abdomen, Eyes, Head and Neck, Thorax, Upper Extremities, Lower Extremities, Skin and Genital/Rectal.
NIH Image Bank
Contains general biomedical and science-related images, as well as patient care and microscopy images.
NIGMS Image Gallery
A searchable database of photos, illustrations, and videos.
Yale Image Finder
Search for open access images and figures from PubMed Central.
A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with software tools to view, present, and manage images. ARTstor is useful for images of medicine related to culture and art. Copyright information can be found at: http://www.artstor.org/what-is-artstor/w-pdf/terms-conditions-iap.pdf
Health Education Assets Library
Search database for images, video clips, animations, presentations, and audio files.
A repository of medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes.
Wellcome Images - 2000 Years of Human Culture
Includes a biomedical collection with more than 40,000 images, covering topics such as disease, surgery and general healthcare and sciences.
The Virtual Microscopy Database
Thousands of virtual slides available for educational use (creative commons license) donated by faculty at many Universities. You need to subscribe to get an account but it is free to use. Designed for researchers and educators, not students.
AllGo Plus Size Stock Photo Collection
Collection of free stock photos featuring plus-size models in office, home, and fun settings. Photos are free to use, but attribution is requested.
Broadly Gender Spectrum Collection
The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. All photos are available via a Creative Commons license, attribution is requested.
Features standard clip art, animated clip art, icons, photographs and illustrations.
Copyright Free Photos
Includes photographs of animals, buildings, nature, places and technology.
Creative Commons Search
Find and use some 300 million images from openly licensed and public domain works.
Duke Digital Collections
Browse collections held by Duke University Libraries or organizations affiliated with Duke University.
Library of Congress Photostream on Flickr
Contains of variety of historical images from the Library of Congress' extensive collection of photographs.
morgueFile Public Image Archive
"Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work".
Pics 4 Learning
A copyright-friendly image library for teachers and students.