Overview
The purpose of this module is to:
Let's start with the bad news...
Duke graduates can use their NetID and email account for one year after graduation; however, you will not be able to download software or access the same journal articles or databases you can while you are a student.
The alumni office is offering a very limited set of resources. It won't be very helpful to you, but it's worth checking out the link below as it's free.
What does this mean for you?
You will no longer have access to Duke University's journal and textbook subscriptions that you have been using to get full text articles. You will have to have a plan for how to get your hands on copies.
Before you lose access to everything Duke offers, here are something you should do to prepare.
Things to Do Before You Leave:
1. Copy any documents stored on Duke drives & Duke emails.
2. Go through your saved citations: are there any you want to keep? Are there any you'd like the PDFs for? Do this before you leave so you can still get free full text!
3. Evaluate your citation manager needs. If you are using Endnote, double-check that you have the most current version before you leave. This will last you for a few years, but then you'll have to purchase it again at some point, which will cost hundreds of dollars. But there are free options out there like Zotero that are totally worth exploring!
4. Apply for an Alumni Duke email if you would still like a Duke email. Click on the link below to navigate to the form.
Other Free Resources
The first place to look for free resources is our page "Free Clinical Tools for Health Professionals." This is a collection of a variety of resources that span databases, medical reference material, textbooks, and more. The link is below.
In addition to the resources mentioned there, here are a few others that you may find helpful:
1. PubMed Central (database for full-text articles)
PubMed as the database will always be freely available to you – you'll just be missing access to most full text. PubMed Central is a sub-section of PubMed that is guaranteed to have the full text! Same interface you know and love, and a promise to have the thing you need. But buyer beware: not all of these articles are from peer-reviewed journals. Critical appraisal will be important.
2. EndnoteClick (web browser extension for full-text finding)
EndnoteClick is an extension that you can add to your browser to help find some full text. It will search for open access or other freely available options – it can also be able to sync with an institution's subscriptions and work with an Endnote subscription.
3. Zotero (free alternate citation manager)
If you leave Duke and don't want to pay $250-$300 to maintain an Endnote Subscription, check out Zotero! It is a free-to-use program that is user friendly and incorporates great into Word, Google Docs, and any internet browser you prefer. Contact the library if you would like help shifting your library from Endnote to Zotero.
Perks of being an APTA member
Being a member to APTA gives you a number of databases and resources that provide full-text access. These include:
Money-saving tip: If you are an APTA member at graduation time and you renew your membership within 6 months after the expiration of your student membership, you'll save 50 percent off the annual dues.