Skip to main content


Duke University Medical Center Archives: Duke Digital Collections & Resources

An introduction to the Duke University Medical Center Archives resources

Images from the Medical Center Archives

Other Duke Digital Exhibits & Collections

Recommended medical-related digital exhibits, collections, and guides created by Duke University:

  • What Does Your Doctor Know? This exhibit highlights the transition of physician education over time, from the days of ancient civilization in Greece to the establishment of Duke’s Medical School. Materials are from the Medical Center Archives and from the History of Medicine Collections in the Rubenstein Library.
  • Animated Anatomies This exhibit explores the visually stunning and technically complex genre of printed texts and illustrations known as anatomical flap books.
  • Medicine & Madison Avenue This digital collection features over 600 advertisements dating from 1850 to 1920, with a particular focus on medicine, health, and hygiene.

Recommended general digital collection resources created by Duke University:

 

Digital Images of the Medical Center Archives

Our digital repository, MEDSpace, includes hundreds of digitized images relevant to the history of the Duke University Medical Center. You can search for a particular individual or topic (such as "Wilburt Davison" or "nursing") or browse by subject or collection.

Collections recommended for researchers include:

  • Foundations of Excellence -- Over 700 digitized photographs and publications documenting the history of Duke Medicine's academic, clinical, and research activities.
  • Historical Publications -- A selection of publications from the School of Medicine's early days, such as 1929 admission requirements and a 1939 Duke Nursing Handbook.
  • Artifacts & Artwork -- Over 200 images of artwork (some of it featuring key figures in the medical center's history) and artifacts (such as medical instruments, apothecary jars, etc.)

Digitized Duke School of Medicine Yearbooks

The Aesculapian, Duke School of Medicine Yearbooks, 1950-2013

The Medical Center Archives collection of The Aesculapian, the School of Medicine yearbooks, has been digitized and made available online, courtesy of DigitalNC. The collection consists of 34 volumes that span more than 60 years. In addition to portraits of medical and nursing students, the yearbooks also feature photographs of faculty and staff, clubs and organizations, events, and campus buildings. Several volumes include essays on notable events or key figures in the School of Medicine's history. In addition to viewing The Aesculapian online, users also may download the volumes as PDFs and search them by keyword.

Digital Exhibits of the Medical Center Archives

Below is a selection of the Duke University Medical Center Archives digital exhibits. To view a full list, please visit the Digital Exhibits page of our website.