Skip to main content


NIH Public Access Policy Compliance: Manage Compliance

Manage Compliance thru My Bibliography

After adding your citations to your My Bibliography and linking your eRA Commons account, set the Display Settings to the Award View as shown below.

My Bibliography award view

This should then show you your citations with red, yellow, and green dots indicating the status of each citation (see example below).

My bibliography example

Status Codes

An article can have one of the following statuses.

My bibliography status

Any article with a red 'Non-compliant' or question mark, 'Edit Status' status needs your attention!

 

Click on the link associated with those articles (which could be an 'Edit Status', an NIHMS ID number, or a 'Citation not in NIHMS or PMC' link).  The following box will open.

Edit compliance status

Use the given options to change the status of the citation.

Hints:

  • If the article was accepted for publication before April 8th, 2008, it is exempt!
  • If the article was a conference proceeding or editorial (i.e. not peer-reviewed) it is exempt!
  • If you are going to start Method C (submit it to NIHMS) you will need to upload the final peer-reviewed manuscript (this is not the final pdf the journal published).

Assign Awards

You should assign the correct awards to each citation in your My Bibliography.

My bibliography assign awards

  • The "My awards" provides the list of awards associated with the P.I.s eRA Commons profile.
  • —The "Other awards" section displays those awards that are not associated with the P.I.s eRA Commons profile, but have been linked to citations in the My Bibliography collection.