The History of Medicine Collections are part of the Rubenstein Library. See below for contact information.
Need assistance with historical research?
Level 1 - Room 102
Researchers, students and visitors are welcome to use this quiet study space. Occasionally it will be used for lectures and special events and will be closed.
Group Study Rooms
Level 1 - Room 102A, 102B, and 102D (Richmond House Room)
Books about the history of medicine are available at the Medical Center Library & Archives! The Library has maintained a small historical collection of older medical texts (Medical Library Josiah Charles Trent Collection) as well as contemporary works on the history of medicine. In addition the collection includes medical artifacts such as apothecary jars, instruments and equipment, and other items created by or relevant to Duke's role in medicine and the biomedical sciences.
Doing more extensive research? Many other historical works are available in the .circulating collection on main campus. The History of Medicine Collections Curator (see left hand box) can help you find older and rare books and other treasures housed in Duke's David M. Rubenstein Rare Books and Special Collections Library.
Medical Center Archives preserves the records and history of Duke Medicine and provides access to reports, records, images, and oral histories.
http://archives.mc.duke.edu/ Or contact 919.383.2653
Books about Duke Medicine:
The Library has a number of books in its collection written about the founding of Duke Medicine. This book is available for sale from the Library:
Foundations for Excellence: 75 years of Duke Medicine. Written by Walter E. Campbell. Duke University 2006.
A historical look at the development of Duke medical center, hospital, school of medicine, and research enterprise.
$10.00 Contact Library Administration 919.660.1150 for more information; copies are also for sale at the Library's Service Desk.
Additional special collections:
The Library has these other special collections as well:
Painting of 65th General Hospital in World War II by Frank Beresford. See the series on Library's 3rd level.